DEARBORN, Mich., January 17, 2013 & #8212; The

DEARBORN, Mich., January 17, 2013 — The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) announces the election of an industry leader as its 2013 president. Dennis Bray, PhD, FSME, was sworn in along with the rest of the 2013 SME Executive Committee and Board of Directors at the Society’s...

SME Announces the 2013 Executive Committee and Board of Directors

DEARBORN, Mich., January 17, 2013 The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) announces the election of an industry leader as its 2013 president. Dennis Bray, PhD, FSME, was sworn in along with the rest of the 2013 SME Executive Committee and Board of Directors at the Societys Awards & Installation Banquet held November 10, 2012, in Las Vegas.

Having a passion for what you do throughout your career is one of those rewarding things that gives you a sense of accomplishment, satisfaction and the drive to find ways to improve, said Bray. I like many others involved with SME are fortunate to have found this passion for manufacturing. SME nurtures this passion for those who choose to be a part of it.

A member of the Society since 1985, Bray was elected to the SME College of Fellows in 2003. Additionally, he serves on the Executive, Budget, Finance and Strategic Planning Committees. He previously chaired the former Manufacturing Enterprise Council (MEC) and provided leadership to the development of the Technical Community Network (TCN).

His honors include the SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and the Ford Foundation Fellowship at the University of Wisconsin.

SME has a lot to offer, said Bray, and it is incumbent upon SME leadership to meet the needs by utilizing all facets of SME, by creating meaningful engagements for our contributing members, and by having relevant products and services that inspire, prepare and support the advancement of manufacturing.

Throughout his career, Bray has participated in numerous conferences and events for different organizations serving in many capacities, including session chair, panelist, technical paper presenter and speaker.

Bray is president and chief executive officer of Contour Precision Group LLC in Clover, S.C. Contour Precision Groups family of companies includes Huffman, a manufacturer of precision super-abrasive grinding, additive laser processing and abrasive waterjet manufacturing systems; Huffman Technologies, a provider of manufacturing process engineering services; and Springfield Manufacturing, a contract production services company.

Prior to joining Contour Precision in 2010, Bray was the managing member of Bray Innovation Group LLC. He was president and CEO of Cincinnati Incorporated and earlier served as its executive vice president.

Bray is a member of Crescent Chapter 215. He holds a bachelors degree in engineering, and a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Also elected to serve on the 2013 SME Executive Committee:

President-Elect: Michael F. Molnar, FSME, CMfgE, PE

Molnar is the chief manufacturing officer of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and director of the interagency National Program Office for Advanced Manufacturing. He has more than 25 years of industrial experience in leadership roles. Molnar was elected an SME Fellow in 2008. He has held many leadership positions with SME since joining in 1982, including service as the Societys vice president. Molnar holds BSME and MSMSE degrees from the University of Wisconsin, and an MBA from the University of Notre Dame. (more )

VicePresident: Wayne F. Frost, CMfgE

Frost is retired from John Deere Waterloo Works where he managed the lean manufacturing program. With John Deere for 37 years, Frost accepted increasingly responsible positions in manufacturing management, quality assurance and supply management. He has been an active SME member since 1983 and has served at international, regional and chapter levels. His honors include the SME Award of Merit, SME Presidents Award, the SME Waterloo Chapter Kurt E. Lear Award and the John Deere General Managers Award. He earned a BS and MS from the University of Northern Iowa. (more )

Secretary/Treasurer: Dean L. Bartles, PhD, FSME

Bartles is vice president and general manager of the Large Caliber Ammunition Strategic Business Unit for the Ordnance and Tactical Systems Division of General Dynamics Corp. He also serves on the Department of Commerce Manufacturing Council and the Manufacturing Council for Defense Industrial Association. Bartles has a BS from Shepherd College, an MS from Tampa College, an MBA from Shippensburg University and a doctorate in business administration from Nova Southeastern University. ( more)

At-Large Executive Committee Member: Sandra L. Bouckley

Bouckley joined EATON Corporation in January 2011 as vice president of advanced manufacturing for the industrial sector. Bouckley was named one of the 100 Leading Women in the North American Auto Industry by Automotive News in 2005. She has served as director of advance manufacturing engineering at Chrysler and held positions in product engineering at General Motors. Bouckley holds an MBA from Michigan State University, and an MS in manufacturing management and BSME from Kettering University. ( more)

The full roster of the 2013 SME Executive Committee and Board of Directors can be found here.

About SME:

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) is the premier source for manufacturing knowledge, education and networking. Through its many programs, events, magazines, publications and online training division, Tooling U, SME connects manufacturing practitioners to each other, to the latest technologies and to the most up-to-date manufacturing processes. SME has members around the world and is supported by a network of chapters and technical communities. A 501(c)3 organization, SME is a leader in manufacturing workforce development issues, working with industry, academic and government partners to support the current and future skilled workforce.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Visit the SME Media Center for the latest Society news, one-stop access to SME Events, Manufacturing Quicklinks, SME social media sites, SME News Feed and more.