US Frontiers Of Engineering Symposium

( National Academy of Sciences ) Eighty-six of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's 16th annual US Frontiers of Engineering symposium.

WASHINGTON -- Eighty-six of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 16th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium. Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the 2 1/2 day event. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from approximately 265 applicants.

"As we face the challenges the next century brings, we will rely more than ever on innovative engineers," said NAE President Charles M. Vest. "The U.S. Frontiers of Engineering program is an opportunity for a diverse group of this country's most promising young engineers to gather together and discuss multidisciplinary ways of leading us into the economy of tomorrow."

The symposium will be held Sept. 23-25 at the IBM Learning Center in Armonk, N.Y., and will examine cloud computing, autonomous aerospace systems, engineering and music, and engineering inspired by biology. A featured speaker will be Dr. Bernard S. Meyerson, IBM Fellow and vice president of innovation.

The following engineers were selected as general participants:

Charles Alpert IBM

Ana Arias Palo Alto Research Center (PARC)

Debra Auguste Harvard University

Seth Bank University of Texas, Austin

Stephane Bazzana DuPont Company

Adam Berenzweig Google

Brad Boyce Sandia National Laboratories

David Boyd California Institute of Technology

Jonathan Butcher Cornell University

Erick Cantu-Paz Yahoo! Labs

William Carter HRL Laboratories, LLC

Robert Cassoni Procter & Gamble Company

Jennifer Cha University of California, San Diego

William Chappell Purdue University

Jerry Couretas Lockheed Martin Corporation

Terence Critchlow Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Claus Daniel Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Eric Dashofy Aerospace Corporation

Francis de los Reyes North Carolina State University

Peter DiMaggio Weidlinger Associates, Inc.

Christopher Eckett United Technologies Research Center

Hany Eitouni Seeo, Inc.

Nicholas Fang University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Kevin Farinholt Los Alamos National Laboratory

Andrew Fikes Google

Kevin Fu University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Di Gao University of Pittsburgh

Paul Gloeckner Cummins, Inc.

J. Michael Gray Medtronic, Inc.

Mariah Hahn Texas A&M University

A. John Hart University of Michigan

Dean Ho Northwestern University

Dennis Hong Virginia Tech

Gregory Huff Texas A&M University

Hillery Hunter IBM

Nebojsa Jojic Microsoft Research

Frederick Kish Infinera Corporation

John Kitching National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jeffrey Kloosterman Air Products and Chemicals, Inc

Swaminathan Krishnan California Institute of Technology

Kevin Krizek University of Colorado, Denver

Sanjay Kumar University of California, Berkeley

Aleksandar Kuzmanovic Northwestern University

Diana Lados Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Balasubramanian Lakshmanan General Motors Company

Fei-Fei Li Stanford University

Zhiqun Lin Iowa State University; Ames Laboratory

Christopher Loose Semprus BioSciences

Sergio Loureiro Pratt & Whitney

Ravi Madduri Argonne National Laboratory

Leigh McCue-Weil Virginia Tech

Scott McLaughlin DeTect, Inc.

Florence Mehlmann Arkema, Inc.

Adrienne Menniti CH2M HILL

Jeffrey Norris Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Michele Ostraat RTI International

Tomas Palacios Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Edward Park athenahealth

Ronald Polcawich Army Research Laboratory

Shriram Ramanathan Harvard University

Venkatesh Rao Xerox Research Center Webster

Salil Rege Cargill, Inc.

Stan Rendon 3M Company

Daniel Ripin MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Justin Romberg Georgia Institute of Technology

Klint Rose Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Stergios Roumeliotis University of Minnesota

John Russell Air Force Research Laboratory

John Santini, Jr. On Demand Therapeutics, Inc.

Carolyn Seepersad University of Texas, Austin

Robert Sever Praxair, Inc.

David Sholl Georgia Institute of Technology

Joseph Sinfield Purdue University

Michael Smith Carnegie Mellon University

Ryan Starkey University of Colorado, Boulder

Desney Tan Microsoft Research

Yi Tang University of California, Los Angeles

Seth Taylor Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Srinivas Tummala Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Greg VanWiggeren Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Jing Wan ExxonMobil

Sharon Weiss Vanderbilt University

Thomas Wettergren Department of the Navy, Naval Undersea Warfare Center

Michael Williams The Boeing Company

Siavash Yazdanfar GE Global Research

Jun Ye Brion Technologies (an ASML company)

Speakers at this year's event are:

Ella Atkins University of Michigan

Luiz Andre Barroso Google

Stefan Bieniawski The Boeing Company

Mark Campbell Cornell University

Elaine Chew University of Southern California

Armando Fox University of California, Berkeley

Chad Frost NASA Ames Research Center

Henry Hess Columbia University

Efrosini Kokkoli University of Minnesota

Parthasarathy Ranganathan Hewlett Packard Research Labs

Douglas Repetto Columbia University

Mostafa Ronaghi Illumina

Daniel Trueman Princeton University

Brian Whitman The Echo Nest Corporation

Yuan Yuan Zhou University of California, San Diego

The organizers of the 2010 symposium are:

Ali Butt Virginia Tech

Mark Byrne Auburn University

Dilma da Silva IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Daniel Ellis Columbia University

Michel Ingham Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Youngmoo Kim Drexel University

Jacob Langelaan Pennsylvania State University

Babak Parviz University of Washington

Andrew Weiner Purdue University